Replying to Galens47

Addendum, I was just thinking, where I am and have been mostly since I was diagnosed, apart from a few excursions round the planet, life just isn’t the way these others describe. I don’t know why their doctors are so unprofessional, or why they don’t report similar things to me. It just doesn’t make any sense, when all the same treatments are here in the real down-under. I don’t know why it is that anybody would waste their time seeing doctors for years and all the time rejecting their advice. I know I didn’t maintain regular contact with my Endocrinologist, that was my fault. I didn’t need to, my script never changed nor my needs. I had major problems with ‘primary physicians’ from time to time, and left them to see another. If they cause me problems I feel no obligation to carry on seeing them. But some of these weird XXY people I write of in my blog don’t do that. They force themselves to see the same old doctor year after year and make no changes at all. Ask yourselves, are they really telling the truth?

Copied from Bodies Like Ours – a publicly accessible discussion group for men & women who can’t understand why they’re men and women.

“Another problem with most of the available studies is that the control groups are XY (males), XXY is a different creature and needs to be understood by itself. If a study wants to accurately describe XXY it has to use XXYs as the control. Many of us have “low” levels of T. Low compared to what? Normal for us?”

Presumably somebody will share this with Galens47, and if not, it’ll make an interesting study for those interested in why some XXY males don’t see themselves as male, nor any other XXY male as male either.

So what did & do you do Galens47 when you want to see a doctor? Did you telepathically communicate with your doctor, who then sent a goon squad to drag you out of bed, force you to attend a clinic/surgery, physically hold you down whilst blood was drawn, and immobilise you completely so that the doctor could examine you? Or did you just feel sick one a day and ring for an appointment like normal males do? There has to be some reason why you were diagnosed to begin with, and you must have thought you were not really male before then, after all chromosomes don’t maketh the man, conception, birth, life, and environment do. So if you’re not a real man now, you can’t ever have been a real man. Therefore why did you seek medical care, even real men hardly ever do that!

Have you ever heard of Kallmann syndrome men? They fail to enter puberty, as the part of the brain that makes gonadtropins doesn’t work properly, but you did start puberty, because your hypothalamus works just fine. You produce LH and FSH which causes your testes to produce testosterone, some of which is used by the enzyme Aromatase to synthesise into oestrogen. Exactly the same thing happens in XY males. I know you do have testes, you grizzle and moan about how you’re allergic to testosterone, yet do nothing to get rid of your number 1 supply of that darstedly evil hormone, that ruined your life! Oh why not, only real men have testes right? And you’re not a real man, so you don’t need testes right? So how do your testes function as opposed to XY men’s testes? Are they any different? I don’t believe they are, I believe they function in exactly the same way, just not at all efficiently in XXY males. Even spermatogenesis occurs to some degree in XXY men’s testes.

So who should we compare XXY men to in order to determine if they have sufficient testosterone? Well I’ve given you the answer here, it’s as obvious as dogs balls! This obviously didn’t happen with you, you can’t even remember, you really think you’re being compared to other men, with normally functioning testes! All I have to do to find out who I was compared to was to check my own medical record, and the answer is I was compared to myself!

I had 12 months of testing before testosterone therapy was indicated in me. I had x rays, blood tests galore, regularly. Hormone essays were done all comparing my results to my results, and my responses. Oh yes in New Zealand where I am, my opinion was sought BEFORE hormone therapy began. We obviously have well trained and competent doctors, who couldn’t give a fucking toss what some bloke down the road measured at, nor XY average. Such imaginations are the prime concern of ignorant XXY men, just like you Galens47, who have never asked their own doctor a single relevant question. That fact is what makes you a real male Galens47!

My FSH was not elevated, but my LH was, but not terribly much compared to other XXY men, but I wasn’t being compared to other XXY men. I was being compared to me. So by the time I was showing need for hormone therapy I was testosterone deficient. I was suffering from testicular failure, compared to me.

That is when the supposed XY average comes into to play. How does a doctor work out what level to prescribe for therapy, once testicular failure has been determined? And all the XXY guys who claim they just went to an Endocrinologist and were immediately prescribed whatever rate, without any studies, I don’t believe a word of it. No doctor would be so bloody stupid. In American the litigation centre of the world, a doctor prescribing Testosterone without doing studies, won’t be in business for very long. He’ll be paying compensation for centuries! Testosterone is a powerful hormone that has to be administered carefully.

The medical profession always err on the conservative. Unless the patient complains of ineffectiveness the rate is maintained until the doctor deems it necessary to alter the prescription. I didn’t complain for 24 years or so, even though I was dissatisfied, I wasn’t aware I could have my prescription altered.