Amygdala in XXY Males

Oh no, oh yes! I might have to change my mind, now that I have research data I can trust, that XXY men who are homosexual may have a genetic argument?

QR Code Web Address

There’s a PhD. doctor out there, oh somewhere I forget where, you can find her on YouTube taking about male to female Transsexuals having a part of their brain more like that of females than males. I think it’s the Amygdala she refers to, Dr Veronica Drantz – it has taken me ages to find her videos, the right impression is not gained from just reading this.

So we know XXY individual’s do not have an entire extra X functioning, nobody with more than 1 X does. But there are XXX females, of course, and along with XXY men they have a smaller Amygdala, that’s an organ in the brain responsible for all manner of emotional things, and it’s linked to the Hypothalamus. XXY and XXX individuals are much more numerous that Transsexual male to female people, so if some correlation can be shown between the different strains of research into the Amyigdala and Hypthalamus, it may be possible to arrive at a common cause for the differences in brain structure between the 3 groups?

Oh Veronica Drantz doesn’t like me, she thinks I’m ‘too obsessed with my XXY status’ I think I’ve quoted her correctly. Anybody who has in depth knowledge of the diseases they’re treated for and speaks and writes of them MUST be OBSESSED! I can go along with that. And she also says ‘I should get on with my life’ that sounds like ‘shut up and go away’ to me, but anybody who makes a video anywhere about anything, and publishes it is automatically asking for responses. If the responses are polite and to the point they must be addressed.

Well I figure I am getting on with my life, it is mine after all. I don’t have to like you people, you people don’t have to like me, liking and not liking people is irrelevant. The only relevance is getting XXY boys diagnosed as early as possible and getting them the medical, educational, psychiatric care they need, when they need it. Everything else is superficial. Maybe this is my Amygdala at work?

According to the report I’m ever so slowly digesting at the moment, my actual Amygdala may well be smaller than any other euploid man’s Amygdala, and smaller than an XXX female’s Amygdala? The Amygdala’s being studied belong to 10 XXY’s and to 10 XXX’s along with 20 age matched controls, who would be XX and XY respectively, and 10 of each. Do you know what euploid means? Well aneuploid means ‘not the usual number’ in reference to chromosomes, so I predict euploid means ‘the usual number.’ 🙂
We are matched to euploid controls.

Barr Bodies

Yesterday I said that in the example I gave that the Barr body of the XXY male was smaller than the Barr body of the XX female, suggesting more genes are active on the inactivated X in XXY males. In Dr Veronica Drantz’s video series “Myth & Science of Sexuality” she uses a single example of the size of the nucleus in certain brain cells to show that male to female Transsexual’s brains are different to XY’s brains, and the same as XX’s brains, although the images she gives don’t look convincing to me. So all those who want to grizzle at me for using just 1 example of a smaller Barr body in the XXY male, can go grizzle at Dr Veronica Drantz too.

So the Amygdala has something to do with sexual behaviour too. The report I’m reading is actually about psychiatric disease more frequently seen in persons with additional X genetic material, bearing in mind that none of us with more than 1 X, have more than 1 entire X functioning in our cells. If you want to watch the entire video, you’ll find it here.

Last night I also stumbled across a report from Korea about Klinefelter’s syndrome, well it’s more about XXY prenatally, but the authors again don’t differentiate between the two. The key features that got my attention, which makes it worth getting, are the date, it’s from 2013. Abortion is mentioned, that very rare to find those kinds of statistics, the incidence rate in this report is quite high, and the advanced paternal age along with advanced maternal age is mentioned as an increased risk factor. That’s also most unusual, usually older ovaries are said to produce more XXY pregnancies, not older testicles!

Abortion is mentioned as a ‘pregnancy outcome.’ Of the 20 XXY pregnancies in this report, 9 were carried to term. 9 were ‘artificially aborted’ and 2 spontaneously aborted. Apparently the Korean’s needed a change in their laws to allow “Klinefelter syndrome” pregnancies to be aborted. In Korea it’s only been legal to abort XXY pregnancies since 2009. This appears to be a problem of understanding. In France the abortion rate of XXY foetuses was 46.9% and after proper counselling services were established that rate dropped to 11.6%

I’ll get back to you about the Amygdala implications later.